Licenses · Reference
Can You Sell Prints Made with Generators? Licenses Checked
Which no-CAD generators let you sell prints or files: HueForge, Hero Forge, MakerLab, Meshy, Tripo, MakerWorld customizers and more, each linked to its terms.
Quick comparison
| Generator | Best for | Price | Account | Exports | Multicolor | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 ItsLitho | Photo gifts, lamp shades and night lights | Freemium Free to design and download STL files, with optional donations | Not needed | STL | No | Open ItsLitho |
| 02 PixelSculpt | A free color lithophane with a filament change plan | Free No account | Not needed | STL | Yes | Open PixelSculpt |
| 03 MakerLab Chroma Canvas | First filament paintings on a Bambu Lab printer | Free Free with a MakerWorld account | Needed | 3MF | Yes | Open MakerLab Chroma Canvas |
| 04 BumpMesh by CNC Kitchen | Adding grip, wood or fabric textures to models you already have | Free Free to use, including commercial work | Not needed | STL, 3MF | No | Open BumpMesh by CNC Kitchen |
| 05 Meshy | Figurines and multicolor AMS prints from a prompt or photo | Freemium Free plan: 100 credits a month, models under CC BY 4.0 | Needed | STL, 3MF, OBJ, GLB, FBX, USDZ | Yes | Open Meshy Affiliate link |
| 06 HueForge | Serious filament painting and wall art | Paid Personal Use lifetime $30 | Not needed | STL, 3MF | Yes | Open HueForge Affiliate link |
| 07 Creality MakeNow AI Tools | Creality owners making photo gifts, figurines and signs | Freemium Free Creality account needed | Needed | STL, 3MF, GLB | Yes | Open Creality MakeNow AI Tools |
| 08 PrintPal | Quick printable files for hobby and Etsy projects | Freemium Free: 10 AI generations a month, no commercial rights | Needed | STL, OBJ, GLB, PLY | Yes | Open PrintPal |
| 09 3DGEN | Casting molds for soap, resin, wax or concrete | Freemium Free with a small mark and a weekly download limit | Not needed | STL, 3MF | Yes | Open 3DGEN |
| 10 Tripo AI | Characters, creatures and collectible figures | Freemium Free plan: 200 credits a month, public and non-commercial | Needed | STL, 3MF, OBJ, GLB, FBX | No | Open Tripo AI Affiliate link |
| 11 TitanCraft | Custom D&D heroes, NPCs and monsters for home printing | Freemium Free to design, and a character made only of free parts… | Needed | STL | No | Open TitanCraft |
| 12 Vextrude 3D Text Generator | 3D lettering in non-Latin scripts | Free No account | Not needed | STL, 3MF, OBJ, GLB, PLY, PNG | No | Open Vextrude 3D Text Generator |
| 13 Bento3D | Drawer inserts and parts organizers made to an exact size | Freemium Partition tray, Box and Wall Tray are free | Not needed | STL, 3MF | No | Open Bento3D |
| 14 Benchfinity Workbench | A Gridfinity baseplate that fills a large drawer exactly | Free Free and open source, no account | Not needed | STL, 3MF | No | Open Benchfinity Workbench |
| 15 Gear Generator by Koolm | Replacement gears and gear trains | Free | Needed | STL, 3MF | No | Open Gear Generator by Koolm |
Checked on September 25 and 26, 2026, with rows added on October 10, 2026. This is not legal advice: licenses change, so open the linked terms and read them yourself before you sell anything.
Sometimes. Whether you can sell prints made with a generator depends on two licenses: the terms of the tool, and, for customizers, the license of the model you customize. A few tools allow selling on the free plan, several put it behind a paid tier, and most of the MakerWorld customizers we list are for personal use unless the designer sells a commercial license.
Quick answer
- Free, and selling is allowed: ItsLitho, Vextrude 3D Text Generator, JigsawMake, BumpMesh, the BakePress free plan and Bambu Lab’s own MakerLab tools such as Chroma Canvas.
- Free, with credit to the creator: the Meshy free plan (CC BY 4.0) and the Gear Generator by Koolm (CC BY).
- Paid tier needed: HueForge (prints from $60 a year), Tripo AI, PrintPal, Filament Painter, and the miniature makers TitanCraft and Eldritch Foundry.
- Depends on the model: MakerWorld customizers, OpenSCAD Playground and Thingiverse files follow the license of the design you customize.
- Not for sale: Hero Forge miniatures, CodesToSTL designs, and prints of the Sweeping 2-Line Name Plate.
Which generators let you sell prints?
One row per tool. “Paid tier” means selling needs a paid plan or license; “per model” means the license of the design you customize decides.
| Generator | Sell prints? | Sell the files? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| HueForge | Paid tier: Limited Commercial, $60 a year | Paid tier: Professional, $120 a year or $350 lifetime | License tiers |
| Filament Painter | Paid tier: $20 commercial license | Not stated | Filament Painter |
| MakerLab Chroma Canvas | Yes | Yes | MakerWorld FAQ |
| Make My Lithophane (MakerLab) | Yes | Yes | MakerWorld FAQ |
| Make My Sign (MakerLab) | Yes | Yes | MakerWorld FAQ |
| MakerLab Image to 3D Model | Unclear, ask the vendor: each AI engine has its own terms | Unclear | MakerWorld FAQ |
| QRFun (MakerLab) | Paid tier: $29.99 Commercial unlock | Not stated | MakerLab |
| Creality MakeNow AI Tools | Yes, where the tool’s in-app notice says so | Not stated | Membership page |
| MakerWorld Parametric Model Maker | Per model | Per model | MakerWorld FAQ |
| Name Keychain Generator [NO AMS] | Paid tier: the designer’s membership, $4.99 a month | No, under its Standard Digital File License | Model page |
| Sweeping 2-Line Name Plate | No (CC BY-NC-SA) | No | Model page |
| Jar Generator (Fletch) | No, and the designer offers no commercial membership | No | Model page |
| Top Secret Spinning Top | Paid tier: the designer’s tier 1 or higher membership, with a sales limit per tier | No, under its Standard Digital File License | Model page |
| Gear Generator by Koolm | Yes, with credit (CC BY) | Yes, with credit | Model page |
| Tripo AI | Paid tier: Pro, $20 a month billed yearly | Paid tier | Pricing |
| Meshy | Yes; free-plan models are CC BY 4.0, so credit Meshy | Yes, same condition | Pricing and FAQ |
| PrintPal | Paid tier: Pro, $10 a month | Paid tier | Pricing |
| Hero Forge | No | No | Terms of Service |
| TitanCraft | Paid tier: Merchant License, $99 for 90 days to $360 for a year | No, on any license | Merchant License |
| Eldritch Foundry | Paid tier: Merchant License, $550 a year | No | Merchant License |
| CodesToSTL | No | No | CodesToSTL |
| Map2Model | No, unless you agree a separate license | No, same rule | Commercial use |
| TrailMark3D | Paid tier: Pro, $10 a month; on any plan, keep the open-data credits such as “© OpenStreetMap contributors” | Paid tier, same condition | Terms of service |
| MoonToPrint | No, without the operator’s prior consent | No, the files may not be passed on | Terms |
| ItsLitho | Yes | Yes | Terms of use |
| PixelSculpt | Yes | Yes, the STL files; not the software itself | License |
| Vextrude 3D Text Generator | Yes | Yes, you own the models | Tool FAQ |
| JigsawMake 3D Puzzle Maker | Yes | Not stated | Tool page |
| BumpMesh by CNC Kitchen | Yes; the model you texture keeps its own license | Yes, same condition | License & Terms panel |
| Bento3D | Yes | Not stated | Terms of Service |
| Benchfinity Workbench | Yes | Yes, the designs are yours to share or sell | FAQ |
| BakePress | Yes, on every plan, the free one too | Not stated | Pricing FAQ |
| Meshcast Cookie Cutter Generator | Paid tier: Pro, $20 a month, or Founder | No, on any plan | Licenses |
| 3DGEN | Paid tier: Pro, $20 a month, or Founder, $99 once | No, on any plan | Terms of use |
| Car Mount Phone Holder Generator | No, without the maker’s written permission | No, same rule | Terms of use |
| OpenSCAD Playground | Per model: the license of the .scad file | Per model | Licenses |
Are MakerLab’s own tools free for commercial use?
Mostly, yes. MakerWorld’s FAQ says that what you make with most MakerLab tools belongs to you, with no commercial restrictions. It names two exceptions:
- Parametric Model Maker. Exporting a customized model means you accept the license of the original model, so the designer’s terms apply.
- Third-party generators. MakerLab builds in outside generation services, and each provider’s own terms decide commercial use. Image to 3D runs on Tripo, Hitem3D, Hunyuan 3D, Meshy and Rodin engines, according to MakerWorld’s credit guide, and the FAQ does not say which of their plans a credit-paid generation counts as.
Apps tagged “From Partner” on the MakerLab page come from outside developers, and some sell their own commercial option: QRFun lists a $29.99 Commercial unlock there. If an app sells a commercial unlock, treat the free version as personal use until the developer says otherwise.
How do MakerWorld customizer licenses work?
The model’s license decides, not the tool that customizes it. MakerWorld’s Terms of Use say designers pick a license when they upload, and other users may use the model under that license. On the model pages we checked, you will mostly see three kinds:
- Standard Digital File License. No selling or sharing of the files or of printed copies, and no paid use without the designer’s permission. The Name Keychain Generator [NO AMS] uses it.
- MakerWorld Exclusive License. Commercial use of the model and anything made from it is prohibited. The Customizable Name Sign Generator uses it.
- Creative Commons. CC BY allows selling as long as you credit the designer. Any license with NC rules out commercial use, which Creative Commons defines as use mainly intended for commercial advantage or payment (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0).
Designers can sell more rights through MakerWorld’s Commercial License Membership. You find it under “Get Commercial License” in the license section of a model page, as the FAQ explains, and Bambu Lab’s launch post says designers set their own price, from $3 to $300 a month. The keychain designer above asks $4.99 a month for commercial rights to all of their generators.
Not every designer sells one, and some cap your sales. Fletch offers no commercial membership, so prints from the Jar Generator stay personal use. The designer of the Top Secret Spinning Top allows selling from membership tier 1 up, and each tier’s terms set how many prints you may sell.
The same rule applies off MakerWorld. OpenSCAD Playground is GPL software and lists no terms for what you print, so the license of the .scad file you open decides. We could not open Thingiverse for this check, so it is not in the table; Thing pages list the designer’s license, and the Thingiverse Customizer builds on that design. If the Customizer fails, the Thingiverse Customizer guide shows how to open the same .scad file in a browser.
Can you sell prints from AI 3D generators?
On most free plans, no, or only with credit. The Tripo AI pricing page lists free models as public and non-commercial, while Pro ($20 a month billed yearly) adds private models and commercial use. Meshy licenses free-plan output under CC BY 4.0, which allows commercial use with attribution, and paid plans give you full ownership. PrintPal leaves commercial rights out of the free plan; Pro and Studio include selling both prints and files.
Creality’s MakeNow AI Tools are more open. The in-app notices on tools such as CubeMe and FlexiToys say generated models may be used commercially, and Creality’s membership page, in its Commercial plan section, says Creality Cloud places no extra limits on commercial use of AI-generated content. The rights to the photo you upload still apply.
For how these tools compare on print quality, see the AI 3D generator guide and the AI 3D category.
Do you need a paid license for filament paintings?
For HueForge, yes. Its license tiers are listed below with the sale prices shown when we checked; the list prices were $30, $75, $150 and $500.
- Personal ($24, lifetime): no selling of prints or models.
- Limited Commercial ($60 a year): you may sell prints but not files, and it reverts to personal use if you do not renew.
- Professional ($120 a year, or $350 lifetime): prints and digital files.
The free alternatives differ: Filament Painter is free only for non-commercial use, while Chroma Canvas output is yours under MakerWorld’s FAQ. The tools themselves are compared in the filament painting guide.
If you sell framed pieces, check the frame too. The HueForge / Chroma Canvas Custom Frame Generator uses MakerWorld’s Standard Digital File License, so selling its frames needs the designer’s commercial membership.
How do you check a license before you sell?
- Find the license where you made the file. On MakerWorld it sits in the license section of the model page. On web tools, look for a FAQ, pricing or terms page.
- Read it twice: once for prints, once for files. HueForge’s Limited Commercial tier covers prints but not files.
- Note the plan you were on. Tripo and PrintPal tie commercial rights to a paid plan.
- Buy the license or membership if needed, and keep it active while you sell. MakerWorld’s membership agreement ties the license period to your billing cycle, and TitanCraft’s Merchant License covers sales only while your rights are active.
- Give credit when the license asks for it. For CC BY files, such as Meshy free-plan models or Koolm’s gears, name the creator in your listing.
- Save a dated copy of the terms and your receipt. Terms change, and the copy shows what applied when you made the print.
- Ask when it is unclear. Email the developer or designer; Map2Model, for example, invites commercial requests by email.
What can you make and sell with these tools?
Start from tools whose terms allow it:
- Lithophanes of your customers’ own photos. ItsLitho allows commercial use, and PixelSculpt’s license allows selling the files and the prints; compare tools in the lithophane guide.
- Name signs and 3D lettering. Make My Sign and Vextrude; more in sign and text generators.
- Custom jigsaw puzzles. JigsawMake names commercial production as an allowed use.
- Replacement gears. The Gear Generator by Koolm, with credit; more in mechanical generators.
- Filament paintings. Chroma Canvas, or HueForge with a commercial tier.
- Tabletop miniatures. Not from Hero Forge, whose terms say printed items may not be sold. TitanCraft sells a Merchant License from $99 for 90 days, and Eldritch Foundry one for $550 a year; neither lets you sell the files.
- Drawer organizers. Bento3D’s terms allow commercial use of its files, Benchfinity Workbench says its Gridfinity baseplates are yours to sell, while many of the MakerWorld storage customizers we list, such as the Jar Generator, do not allow selling prints.
- Cookie cutters. BakePress includes commercial use on every plan, the free one too; the Meshcast Cookie Cutter Generator needs Pro ($20 a month) or its one-time Founder plan before you sell.
- Terrain maps. TrailMark3D allows selling on its Pro plan, as long as the open-data credits stay with the model; MoonToPrint’s Moon tiles are for private use only.
- Textured versions of models you may sell. BumpMesh is free for commercial work, such as texturing STLs for clients, but the model you texture keeps its own license.
- Personalized gifts. The gift ideas guide has plenty, but check each tool’s row above first.
Frequently asked questions
Does paying for MakerLab credits let me sell Image to 3D models?
MakerWorld does not say so. Its FAQ says the third-party generation services inside MakerLab each have their own terms for commercial use, and Image to 3D runs on engines from Tripo, Hitem3D, Hunyuan 3D, Meshy and Rodin. Nothing we found says whether a generation paid with credits counts as a free or a paid plan with that provider, so ask MakerWorld support in writing before you sell.
What happens to my right to sell when a MakerWorld commercial membership ends?
MakerWorld's membership agreement ties the license period to your billing cycle. If you cancel, you keep the benefits until the end of the current cycle, and a failed payment ends the subscription as if you had canceled. After that the model's normal license applies again, which for most of the MakerWorld customizers we list means personal use only.
Can I sell a print of a photo, logo or character I do not own?
No generator license covers that. ItsLitho's terms say you must own or have the rights to the images you upload, Meshy grants ownership only when your inputs do not violate anyone's copyright, and HueForge's license page says a commercial license does not give you rights to someone else's IP. Use your own photos and artwork, or get written permission.
What you'll need
Silk PLA for a glossy finish
Silk PLA's glossy, metallic sheen turns simple vase-mode prints and ornaments into gift-worthy pieces with no painting or post-processing.
- Bambu Lab PLA Silk+ (affiliate link) Stronger layer adhesion than typical silk blends, so thin-walled ornaments are less brittle.
- Polymaker Panchroma Silk PLA (affiliate link) Successor to PolyLite Silk, reformulated to print faster and more reliably. In Europe? Buy from 3DJake (affiliate link)
- eSUN PLA-Silk (affiliate link) Long-running, affordable silk with a strong shine in many colors. In Europe? Buy from 3DJake (affiliate link)
Multicolor PLA and color sets
Dual- and tri-color silks give a single-nozzle printer color shifts with no extra hardware, and a matched color set is what lets HueForge and color lithophanes blend thin layers into a full image.
- Bambu Lab PLA Silk Multi-Color (affiliate link) Co-extruded dual and tri colors that shift with the viewing angle; great for keychains and name tags.
- SUNLU Multi-Color Silk PLA (dual/tri/four-color) (affiliate link) Budget dual-, tri- and four-color silk for colorful prints without an AMS. In Europe? Buy from 3DJake (affiliate link)
- Bambu Lab PLA CMYK Lithophane Bundle (affiliate link) Four 1 kg spools (cyan, magenta, yellow, white) made for color lithophanes and handy for HueForge-style layering.
Glow-in-the-dark filament
Glow filament charges under daylight or UV and keeps signs, house numbers and keychains visible after dark. The glowing particles are abrasive, so pair it with a hardened-steel nozzle.
- Bambu Lab PLA Glow (affiliate link) Bright glow with RFID presets. Bambu requires a hardened-steel nozzle and lists it as not compatible with 0.2 mm nozzles or the AMS lite.
- Polymaker Panchroma Glow PLA (affiliate link) Formerly PolyLite Glow; looks natural-colored in daylight and glows at night. In Europe? Buy from 3DJake (affiliate link)
- eSUN PLA-Luminous (affiliate link) Affordable glow PLA, good value for larger signs. In Europe? Buy from 3DJake (affiliate link)
Also handy
Spare nozzles and hotends
Some of these are affiliate links: we may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you. More about that
Every generator in this guide
Lithophanes
ItsLitho
Browser lithophane designer with many shapes, an image editor and a backlit preview
Lithophanes
PixelSculpt
Free lithophane and color lithophane maker with filament TD layers and a swap schedule, STL, in your browser
Image to Relief
MakerLab Chroma Canvas
Bambu Lab's free browser tool for HueForge-style filament paintings from any image
Image to Relief
BumpMesh by CNC Kitchen
Adds knurling, wood grain, weave or your own image as real texture to any STL
Image to Relief
HueForge
Desktop app that turns images into filament paintings using layered color swaps
Customizers
Creality MakeNow AI Tools
Ten Creality Cloud generators that turn photos and text into figurines, keychains, signs, frames and toys
Customizers
3DGEN
Browser generators for casting molds, cutters, keychains and lithophanes, STL or 3MF; free tier with a small mark
AI to 3D
Tripo AI
Turn text, images or sketches into detailed 3D models with STL, 3MF and OBJ export
Puzzles & Games
TitanCraft
Build and pose custom hero, monster and mech miniatures, then export them as STL
Signs & Text
Vextrude 3D Text Generator
Browser 3D text maker with fonts for 21 languages and curved text, exports STL and 3MF
Storage
Benchfinity Workbench
Free Gridfinity baseplate sized to a whole drawer or bench, auto-split for your printer with connector keys, no account
Mechanical Parts
Gear Generator by Koolm
Spur, ring, bevel, crown and worm gears plus racks, all from one MakerWorld form
Get the next guide in your inbox
Every two weeks: the newest no-CAD generators, one guide and a print tip. Free, no spam, unsubscribe any time.